THEBERTON AND EASTBRIDGE PARISH COUNCIL

Mrs Sharon Smith
Parish Clerk
Arbour House
Rectory Road
Middleton
Saxmundham
IP17 3NP

01728 648576 parishclerkthebertoneastbridge@gmail.com

To: Humphrey Cadoux-Hudson EDF Energy, cc Paul Morton, Julia Pyke, Carly Vince, Richard Bull, Tom McGarry cc Therese Coffey MP, Peter Aldous MP, Dan Poulter MP cc Planning Inspectorate, Sizewell C Case Team cc Clir Richard Rout, Suffolk County Council, Clir Craig Rivett, East Suffolk Council

31 March 2020

We welcome your decision not to submit your application for a Development Consent Order for Sizewell C for "a few weeks" but given the seriousness of this medical crisis and the significant national and local impacts of Sizewell C, we do not consider a short delay to be acceptable. We acknowledge that you propose to extend the period for registration as interested parties, but Government advice is that restrictions on free movement and gatherings could last in some form or other for most of the year.

- We are concerned that the Planning Inspectorate may not have the resources to be able to assess the DCO application properly in the first 28 days. Already PINS staff are working remotely and it is difficult for members of the public to be in contact with them.
- County and District Councils, which are mandated to respond to questions about EDF's Community consultation
 during this initial 28 day period, may not have the resources due to sickness and remote-working to fully deal with the
 application. Additionally, relevant officers should not be distracted from focusing on keeping vital local services
 operating during this time.
- If the application is accepted, it may be impossible to view documentation in hard copy and local printing resources are limited at present. Whilst some documents can be viewed digitally those who do not use the internet will be discriminated against, and the experience of Parishes at Hinkley Point was that some documents such as maps were impossible to view properly online.
- Parish and Town Councils are prevented from meeting in person and with the public for the foreseeable future and our ability to respond and engage with the public will be significantly compromised as a result.
- Wider public engagement in the examination process will be severely compromised. We are especially concerned
 about the ability of the older and more vulnerable members of our society to fully and effectively engage, who are
 self-isolating, unwell, and are less likely to have access to digital and online resources. Extending the period for
 registration is unlikely to assist such members of our society.

All of the above combine to make us very concerned about the robustness of the process and full and effective engagement on a project that has significant impacts across the County. We call on you to defer submitting your DCO until such time as the

Planning Inspectorate, Government's Statutory Advisers, Local Authorities, Parish and Town Councils, Groups and individuals are fully resourced, able to engage, and all restrictions on public gatherings have been permanently lifted.



Sharon Smith

Clerk, Theberton and Eastbridge Parish Council, on behalf of Stephen Brett, Chair and Tim Beach, Chair, Snape Parish Council and the following 51 additional Parish and Town Councils:

Aldeburgh Town Council

Aldringham-cum-Thorpe Parish Council

Bawdsey Parish Council

Benhall and Sternfield Parish Council

Blaxhall Parish Council Brandeston Parish Council Bredfield Parish Council Bromeswell Parish Council

Bungay Town Council
Butley, Capel St Andrew and Wantisden Parish Council

Campsea Ashe Parish Council Charsfield Parish Council Chillesford Parish Meeting Corton Parish Council Darsham Parish Council Dunwich Parish Meeting

Farnham with Stratford St Andrew Parish Council

Friston Parish Council

Earl Soham Parish Council

Great Glemham Parish Council

Hacheston Parish Council
Halesworth Town Council

Iken Parish Council

Kelsale-cum-Carlton Parish Council Kirton and Falkenham Parish Council

Knodishall Parish Council

Leiston-cum-Sizewell Town Council

Levington and Stratton Hall Parish Council

Marlesford Parish Council Martlesham Parish Council Melton Parish Council

Middleton Parish Council Nacton Parish Council

Parham Parish Council
Peasenhall Parish Council
Pettistree Parish Council

Rendham Parish Council Saxmundham Town Council

Southwold Town Council Sudbourne Parish Council Sutton Parish Council Sweffling Parish Council Ufford Parish Council

Waldringfield Parish Council Wenhaston Parish Council Westerfield Parish Council Westleton Parish Council

Wickham Market Parish Council

Wissett Parish Council
Woodbridge Town Council
Yoxford Parish Council

In addition to those formally signing above, Walberswick and Great Bealings Parish Councils also expressed considerable concern.